Uncovering the mystery of hearing God’s voice

Uncovering the mystery of hearing God's voice

For years I wondered how to actually listen to God’s voice- every time I heard a preacher say God told me this- I was like what do they mean? How can you hear God speak to you when you can’t actually see Him? It wasn’t until the end of Year 11, I finally approached my Youth Pastor with the BIG QUESTION- How do you listen for God’s voice? And know it’s Him?

While one of the most fundamental ways is checking the Bible to see if the voice aligns with God’s will. If it doesn’t, it’s most likely you. But if it does- it’s God!

Ah but if only it was that simple πŸ˜‰ Here are other insider tidbits, I learned over the years =)

#1. Through devos and Bible verses.
The very first time that God spoke to me in this way was the week before my baptism. In short I had a fallout with a close friend and was faced with the decision on how to move forward. Lo and behold, I opened up my Girlfriends in God devo and surprise surprise it was about loving sandpaper people to rock their world. That we should be forgiving as Christ forgave us and to look beyond the person’s flaws and see this story.

At that moment, I knew what God wanted me to do- Forgive just as He has.

*Now forgiving is entirely different to trusting the person to the same extent and being a doormat. Forgiveness to letting go of how you feel about someone’s wrongs to you. Cause we all make mistakes. But whether or not the friendship/relationship continues the same way, that’s another story.

#2. You get a thought or decision that is consistent.
Generally, if it’s me- the thoughts or feelings will disappear.
While thoughts and decisions that are constant and never-changing are God.

#3. You hear a calm voice speaking to you.
Ever hear the small calm voice that defies all reason and rational given the situation? Yep, that’s the Holy Spirit talking =)

#4. Worship songs!
The ones which reflect the season of your life now. There’s something supernatural about Christian songs that connect your spirit to God =)

My personal favourites are:
For hard times and dry seasons…
πŸ˜‰ Your ❀ never fails (ah Baptism memories!)

πŸ˜‰ Our God is Greater

πŸ˜‰ Desert Song

Christian songs are like ❀ songs to God and you, because they remind you how much God <3’s you.

#5. Nature signs like rainbows & sunsets.
Being a photography person, I’m always looking out for nature photo opps! Rainbows for me personally always symbolises good news and plans in motion πŸ˜‰

#6. Sermons which encourage you in the current season of your life.
Trials, relationships, careers, uni or even stress- whatever you’re going through, there’s a sermon for that! Christianity is aboutΒ Christianity is about ❀ transformation, that’s why sermons stir your ❀ especially the ones that describe your life.

#7. He puts you in the same situation over and over until you get it πŸ˜‰
Lessons learnt well. Message received loud and clear over.

There’s probably heaps more ways that God speaks to us that I haven’t mentioned. As long as we remember the one vital key πŸ˜‰ note the ways He has spoken to you in the past and present. Eventually it will become natural hearing God cause you’re already familiar with it!

Leave a Reply

