Embrace the season of your life right now

Jeremiah 29:11

Because God has big plans for you!

This was one of the most profound pearls of wisdom I learnt in my 2012 gap year. I remember just wanting to get a job so badly. To the extent of just wishing God would just fast forward the season when I actually would have one. But year after, I realised God was more interested in refining my character rather than just giving me the easy way out.

All our lives we are told to make Plan A’s and live by it. But no one ever really talks about Plan B. After all Plan A is the one where everything goes to plan and is easy and perfect. In fact it would probably be easier if God gave us the keys to Plan A, that’s the ultimate destination right? But I realised that it may not necessarily be the best route. Because then it becomes easy for us to take it for granted and to take all the credit.

Plan B on the other hand is a whole other story. It’s the one where we hand over control to God and trust that He has the perfect plan, not us.

It’s the one where we grow spiritually and build our character of resilience. In those moments where God is all we have, we have all we need. 😉

Looking back now, I can truly say it was God’s plan for my job hunting journey, cause it taught me:

❤ How to trust God, that He has the Master Plan not me.
❤ How to be resilient and persevere even in the face of never ending rejection emails.
❤ How to job hunt aces.
❤ To be grateful for the things I did have.
❤ That life will never turn out the way it’s ‘supposed to be’ (#6 Pearl of wisdom from Paul Angone 101 Secrets for your 20’s). Supposed to be is the ideal smooth journey of life, but to be honest if it did; we wouldn’t learn and grow abundantly. ‘Supposed to be,’ is the enemy lie, throw it out before it coils us!
❤ That life approaching adulthood never turns out the way you expect it to. It is in fact better.

In hindsight this was all God’s Master Plan to teach me these pearls of wisdom, so when I approached my 20’s and graduate- I wouldn’t get such a Big Shock when Plan A failed!

Fast forward to 2016, I have learnt so much in my job hunting and volunteering journey. It is only with God’s grace I have experienced all sorts of career stints that wouldn’t have happened without the journey. They say Life is a journey not a destination, and how true it is.

So even if the season we’re going through seems tough, and we’re wondering whether it would ever end. Let us keep looking up to God. His plans are higher than ours!

There’s a chain reaction with the events in our lives, even though we may not see or understand it at the time. But when we get to the end of the rainbow, we’ll understand it was for our benefit.

Let us instead of wishing the season away, embrace it and ask God what He wants us to learn. Because chances are, God is working on that wonderful Master Plan that surpasses our mediocre Plan A beyond our wildest dreams!

Leave a Reply

